Insider to Insider: Susan Alexander Shapiro, Owner of Bravo Bride

July 10, 2009 at 6:00 am Leave a comment

Susan Shapiro (and hubby!)I met Susan Alexander Shapiro through Business Networking International.  She has a phenomenal design business, Susabella, that specializes in web sites, e-newsletters, logos, stationery, corporate branding, brochures, advertisements, promotional materials and much more.  Last year I was amazed when this smart woman launched Bravo Bride, a website where brides can buy pre-owned wedding items.  Not only do brides get great deals on things that were often used for a few hours, but also customers get the satisfaction that they are doing good for the environment by reusing, recycling, and reducing.  And, we like that!  BRAVO, SUSAN!  BRAVO!

Susan Alexander Shapiro
Owner of Bravo Bride
Based in Seattle, WA (sell nationwide)
www.bravobride.com
Established 2008

What is your favorite thing about weddings?

That’s a hard one, there are so many wonderful things about a wedding but I have to admit my favorite is watching the bride walk down the aisle in her wedding gown. I love to watch the look on the groom’s face, that is such a special moment.

What is your best tip for time management?

Time management, what’s that? Just kidding :). Everyday I make a to-do list and cross things off as I go. This makes me stay focused and helps me feel like I am accomplishing things. I recently started adding not only work items on my to-do list but also personal items such as grocery shopping, going for a run, etc. It easy to put those things off if they aren’t on my to-do list and it feels just as good to mark those off too.

What is your little marketing secret?

I don’t know if you could call it a secret but I believe that word of mouth referrals are your best marketing tools. If someone likes your service or product they will tell everyone they know and that’s the best type of advertising you can have.

What is the funnest trend you are seeing in the industry?

I love how brides are wearing different colored shoes under their gown. Here are a few on BravoBride that I love:

If you were starting your business all over again, what would you have done differently?

We have some new features on the site such a forum for brides to chat, our blog and a new messaging system. These would have been great to have when we launched the site but I am learning as I go that BravoBride will evolve and change as time goes on. Hopefully the best is yet to come!

Thanks Susan!

Entry filed under: Insider to Insider, Market It, Productivity, Time Management, Trends.

The Jack of All Trades – If You Have Niche-Focus Issues Networking (and other Inexpensive Ways to Increase your Sales)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Use Google? Subscribe in Reader:

www.google.com/reader

Follow us on Twitter


