This I Believe

June 4, 2009 at 6:00 am 10 comments

I love the NPR series called This I Believe.  Whenever I hear people on the show talk about their beliefs (some heartfelt, some silly, some sad) it makes me think of my own beliefs.  It makes me ask the question: What do I believe?  And, then a flurry of thoughts come to mind… too fast for me to process.

I thought I’d try to capture some of those thoughts… so that you can learn a little more about me

This I Believe…

  • I believe the wedding industry is a beautiful melting pot of art, science, soul, talent, love, smarts, discipline, whimsy, chance, impulse, planning, laughter, colors, numbers, lists, and guts.
  • I believe starting a business takes courage, running that business takes resourcefulness, and sticking with it takes discipline.
  • I believe cheese is the most delicious food in the world.
  • I believe anyone in the world can become good at anything at which they practice.
  • I believe you don’t need to be an expert at everything in your business.  You should have a good understanding of everything that goes on in your business.  But, you should be an expert in hiring people who are experts in certain facets of your business.
  • I believe in karma.
  • I believe in sharing.
  • I believe in collaborating.
  • I believe that people who are really good at managing others are so good because they are actually mentors not managers.
  • I believe that babies are way more hilarious than grown ups.
  • I believe that if you don’t take time for yourself on a regular basis, you will burn out.
  • I believe that numbers don’t lie and that is why everyone needs to know their numbers.
  • I believe that movies are the greatest technological and artistic invention (way better than the internet).
  • I believe you can live the life you want but that you have to build that life for yourself.
  • I believe colleges should have a personal finance 2-credit course requirement before graduation.
  • I believe weddings are the only time you’ll ever have all (or most) of your favorite people in the world in one room.
  • I believe we are so fortunate to have engaged couples put their weddings in our hands.
  • I believe that people should focus as much on their marriage as they do on their wedding.

Now you… what do you believe??? (Post a comment below!)

Entry filed under: Inspiration, Life Lessons.

Download the 13-Step Business Plan for Wedding Professionals Los Angeles Meetup!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barbie Hull  |  June 4, 2009 at 7:32 am

    I believe I love this post! What an inspiring read first thing in the morning!

    Reply
  • 3. Jason Parker  |  June 4, 2009 at 9:00 am

    I believe that this is quickly becoming one of my favorite blogs!

    I believe that I’m incredibly fortunate to live in Seattle and be surrounded by such an amazing community.

    I believe that the people who work in the wedding industry are some of the most lovely people I’ve ever known.

    I believe that I’m going destroy the cheese plate at the next Tuesday Toast.

    I believe that Michelle has started my day off on the right foot.

    Reply
  • 5. cuttingedgedjs  |  June 4, 2009 at 9:14 am

    I believe!!!

    Reply
    • 6. Michelle Loretta  |  June 4, 2009 at 9:19 am

      I believe that we are going to learn all about Craig and Cutting Edge DJs on tomorrow’s post! 😉

      Reply
  • 7. calisara  |  June 4, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Love this!
    I believe that two people can look at the exact same thing and see something totally different.

    And I believe in the power of Havarti cheese 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Michelle Loretta  |  June 4, 2009 at 9:48 am

      Ooo… I like both of those! ESPECIALLY the cheese part!

      Reply
  • 9. Rene Davenport  |  June 6, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    I believe that I am going to copy your “I Believe” and put it in a frame in my office. Wow, thank you in believing in us as wedding professionals. It’s hard for some of us now and I really needed your encouragement! I have just discovered your blog and I will visit it frequently! Thanks again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Use Google? Subscribe in Reader:

www.google.com/reader

Follow us on Twitter


