Insider to Insider: Barbie Hull, Owner of Barbie Hull Photography

May 22, 2009 at 6:00 am 2 comments

Courtesy of Laurel McConnell Photography

Courtesy of Laurel McConnell Photography

There are few people in the world as energetic and positive as Barbie Hull.  I first met her a few years ago through BNI (Business Networking International).  She is a SUPER networker.  If you want to connect with someone, tell Barbie.  She can make it happen.  These days, Babs and I are partners in Get Hitched Give Hope.  OH – and guess what?  She’s an amazing photographer to boot!  Check out her blog.

Barbie Hull
Owner, Barbie Hull Photography
Seattle, WA
www.barbiehull.com
established 2001

What is your favorite thing about weddings?

I love everything about weddings, the planning, the love, the excitement – but most of all that first look where the groom sees the bride for the first time and he remembers why he fell in love with her. (so sweet!)

What is your best tip for time management?

Ah – time management is always fun to deal with. – My version is to keep a list of deadlines and make sure to always check a few days a head – so you are never surprised and always prepared.

What is your little marketing secret?

Talk to everyone! You never know who you are sitting next to on a plane. I once sat next to the marketing director of a big Seattle based company – we chatted the 6 hour flight away and sure enough I was hired for a big project the very next week!

What is the funnest trend you are seeing in the industry?

I LOVE the silly photos – business isn’t all about being serious & “professional” its about being yourself and letting your creativity flow.

If you were starting your business all over again, what would you have done differently?

If I were to start over and do it all again…. I would hire out for EVERYTHING non photo related for sure. I see now that spending my time learning & re-learning things that I eventually had to hire out could’ve been time spent growing my business. Work on your business, not in it right?? But – all said, I love my business, I love the place I’m in and wouldn’t change it for the world!

Thanks Barbie!

Entry filed under: Insider to Insider, Market It, Time Management, Trends.

Writing Your Business Plan, Step 9: Financial Plan (Preparation) Writing Your Business Plan, Step 10: Financial Plan (History)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. whitney elizabeth  |  May 22, 2009 at 10:56 am

    i like the comment about working on your business and not in it! very helpful reminder 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jenny Jimenez / PhotoJJ  |  May 26, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Go Barbie! Love that girl. Thanks for featuring her.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Use Google? Subscribe in Reader:

www.google.com/reader

Follow us on Twitter


