Insider to Insider: Stacy Reeves, Owner of Stacy Reeves Photography

May 1, 2009 at 6:00 am 1 comment

Stacy Reeves

Kelly Simants of Sweet Pea Events wrote to tell me about the fabulous Stacy Reeves.  She raved about her gorgeous photographic style and super fun personality.  Stacy says that her favorite part of being a photographer is, “Helping people move past their insecurities and feel beautiful.”  And, don’t we all want to feel beautiful?  I know I do!

Stacy Reeves
Dallas, Texas
www.stacyreeves.com
established in 2005

What is your favorite thing about weddings?

Everything about my job is about love, and I adore that. My clients love each other. They love their friends and family. Their friends and family love them. I love my clients. They (hopefully!) love me. I love what I do. Basically, every day in my job is a complete love-fest! It sounds cheesy, but truly, love impacts every aspect of who I am and what I do, and I feel so lucky to be in that position. I get to work with people I like during the happiest time of their lives, I get to make them feel good about themselves and see their beauty, and I get to make a living doing something I love. Can anyone really ask for more from life?

What is your best tip for time management?

One thing that has really helped me is setting specific work hours. Early on in my career, I would work very odd hours, often late in the evening or on weekends, and I could feel myself starting to get burnt out very quickly. I decided to act as if I had a normal 9-5 job, to go into my office and devote that time and only that time to getting my work done. I found myself getting so much more accomplished, even though technically I was working fewer hours. I believe that having that daily 5 PM deadline not only encourages me to get my work done promptly, but it also makes it okay for me to truly be “off-duty” in the evenings and on weekends when I’m not shooting so that I can fully enjoy my time with my friends and family.

What is your little marketing secret?

Knowing my target clientele. I believe that the fundamental key to any good marketing campaign is knowing exactly who your audience is, and I’m not just talking about “engaged women in Dallas, TX.” I know where my brides shop, what music they listen to, what their priorities are, what their design style is, etc. Obviously my brides all have their own unique tastes, but there are common threads I see among all my clients that make them a perfect fit with my personality and my photography, and in my marketing I try to capitalize on that. I’m not trying to appeal to every bride – just the brides who are right for me.

What is the funnest trend you are seeing in the industry?

Right now vintage and Southern influences are huge, and I could not be happier about that because that is completely my design style. I love seeing the use of cameos and handkerchiefs, bundles of wildflowers in mason jars, old knick-knacks like birdcages and lanterns, and elegant weddings held in barns or gardens. I think it’s wonderful to see a wedding that is still completely classy and sophisticated without being ultra-modern or flashy.

If you were starting your business all over again, what would you have done differently?

Nothing! I could not be happier about how my business has progressed so far. However, I do wish that future Stacy could go back in time and tell past Stacy to be patient. If there’s one thing I have learned, it’s that true success takes time, especially in this industry. Every season provides a wider network, a larger referral base, a better portfolio, more experience, and more publicity. I used to get so frustrated because I wanted the business and success immediately that I didn’t completely focus on my business right at that moment. It’s great to know where you want your business to go in the future, but now that I have learned to focus on the present and embrace where I am, I’m doing better than ever.

Thanks Stacy!

If you’ve got sage advice for our readers, let us know by emailing SageWeddingPros-at-gmail.com!

Entry filed under: Insider to Insider, Market It, Time Management, Trends.

Cost Cutting Thursday! 13 Steps to Writing Your Business Plan ~ Introduction

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. coutureeventsbylottie  |  May 1, 2009 at 7:21 am

    Just dropping in to show some love. Love the blog. Plenty of great information and tips. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Use Google? Subscribe in Reader:

www.google.com/reader

Follow us on Twitter


