Insider to Insider: Michelle Loretta, Owner of mmm… paper

April 24, 2009 at 6:00 am 1 comment

Someone pointed out to me the other day that I had not answered my own “Insider to Insider” questions.  (I think some bloggers like to hide in the anonymity of their writing.)   I am the owner of mmm… paper and people often ask me how I came up with that name.  It’s what I whisper to myself when I come into contact with gorgeous paper that feels oh-so-delicious to the touch.

Michelle Loretta, Owner of mmm… paper
Seattle, WA (and drops of other US cities)
www.mmmpaper.com
established in 2004

What is your favorite thing about weddings?

A wedding is most likely the only time in a couple’s life that they will have all of their favorite people in one room.  All of these assorted folks come together from all over the world to eat, dance, toast, celebrate.  There is nothing like this.

What is your best tip for time management?

I’m neurotic about scheduling things.  But, I try to give myself buffers of time when my calendar is open.  With an 18-month-old daughter, a business, Get Hitched Give Hope, and Sage Wedding Pros I have to put things on my calendar before they happen.  The drawback is that I can’t necessarily squeeze in too many last minute things.  The upside is that all of the balls get juggled quite nicely.  I also make sure that I am scheduling enough down time and “off” time so that I can recharge my batteries and come back with renewed energy.

What is your little marketing secret?

Much of my business comes from client and vendor referrals.  I’m very adamant about tracking all of that information and making sure that people get thanked.  The people who have supported my business are the life blood of the business.

What is the funnest trend you are seeing in the industry?

I love all the color happening right now!  YAY!  Finally!  After years of chocolate brown it is so fun to see all of these great combinations: magenta and chartreuse, cobalt and indigo, fuchsia and tangerine, curry and lime.  But, all love affairs are fleeting.  A turn to the muted tones is coming in the next few years… so take advantage of these bright shades now!

If you were starting your business all over again, what would you have done differently?

I would have been better about pricing.  With an accounting background, I have always been very studious about pricing.  But, in the beginning, I’m not sure I had in mind all the “hidden costs” of doing business and I know I was guilty of “rookie underpricing” of my goods.  I think I’ve finally found the sweet spot when it comes to this, but there is always room for growth and improvement.

Thank you, Sage Readers!  It’s fun conversing with you about all things business!

Do you have sage advice for wedding professionals?  Email us at: SageWeddingPros-at-gmail.com .

Entry filed under: Insider to Insider, Market It, Time Management, Trends.

Cost Cutting Thursday! (where NOT to cut costs) 3 Things We Need To Teach Our Customers

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Barbie Hull  |  April 24, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    I love your marketing secret! You are my favorite person to refer to! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Use Google? Subscribe in Reader:

www.google.com/reader

Follow us on Twitter


