The Clean-Desk Strategy

April 21, 2009 at 6:00 am 2 comments

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License

Yesterday, we talked about “getting over the slump” which tends to happen on Mondays.  In it, one of the tips was to clean your desk.  Today, I’m going to give you my short and simple approach to a clean desk.  I promise that if you try it, you will feel liberated… among other things. 😉

This is what I do:

  1. Take all of my post-its and make them into a pile on my to-do list (which I later use in rewriting my to-do list).
  2. Remove every single thing off of my desk except for anything attached to a wire (computer, phone, printer, scanner).  I put all of those things in a huge pile somewhere else (usually a table or the floor).
  3. Now that the  desk is empty, I spray-clean and wipe down every inch of my desk so that it is shiny and new.  I love Mrs. Meyer’s products… they smell so yummy.
  4. Then I go thru the BIG pile inch by inch:
  • I throw away what is junk
  • I put away files where they belong
  • I put all the little cluttery thingy-ma-jiggers (clips, pencils, rubberbands, business cards, etc) into their little containers or drawers
  • And, I slowly put back the things that belong on my desk

VOILA!  Clean desk!  Do it… feel refreshed… work happy… be productive… prosper!

Entry filed under: Inspiration, Life Lessons, Productivity.

5 Tips for Dealing with a “Slump” STOP! Are you checking your email?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. whitney | brown sugar design  |  April 21, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    I sorely need to do this. Our desk is… well… disastrous. Your positive encouragement is motivating me – thank you!

    Reply
    • 2. Michelle Loretta  |  April 22, 2009 at 6:11 am

      I think I wrote that post directed at myself… hopefully I will take that advice more often… 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Use Google? Subscribe in Reader:

www.google.com/reader

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


